My Alarm Didn’t Go Off

Anyone reading this post probably knows the feeling of anxiety the night before a flight. Sometimes I wake up three times during the night to check the time. This trip has me pretty anxious. Last night I sipped a few bottles of wine a little to calm my nerves. It didn’t work at all. In fact, what it did do was actually make me more paranoid about all the things that could go wrong…death being at the top of the list.  EJ thinks I am insane. I am sure there is a little truth to that. I started telling him who gets what if our plane goes down. I don’t know what it is, but I really do not like the idea of flying over the ocean during the night. I have Valium, but I am afraid to take it.

Anyhoo, I set me alarm on my phone (That;s British for my alarm- just practicing). It didn’t go off. I woke up almost jumping out of bed thinking I missed my flight. In fact for a split second I was positive we did. Luckily, it was only 5:30 AM.

We have set off on our adventure. 60 days in Europe. Carry on luggage only. That alone is a huge accomplishment for me. Will we kill each other? Will we have fun? Only time will tell. So far, so good. We are on the flight to Philadelphia where we catch our flight to London. Everything is on time.

We are going to use this blog to document things we liked, didn’t like, costs, interesting stuff.

I joined TravelMiles101 group on Facebook to learn about travel hacking. I am not cheap, but I do love a challenge. The course was perfect for me. 15 minutes a day for 2 weeks. The cool thing is that it worked. The course taught me how to play the credit card game and get flights and hotels for free. My goal was to cover all flights and hotels with points. That didn’t happen, but I got close. If I didn’t spring for the business class seats, all my intercontinental flights would have been covered. I have no regrets. I am old. I need a bed… every night. I still have about 300,000 hotel miles because in the end I decided to use airbnb. For a fraction of the cost of a hotel, Jordan and I each get our own room. That will make us both happy.

First stop is London.  We are excited to see my cousin, Erin Roth and meet her family. I have not seen her since August 1998 when she had just had her second son. I told Jordan he would like her. When we were young, we invented our own language and wrote letters to each other in this language for a hot minute.

We plan on doing the typical London sites, tour the sets of Harry Potter, and also go down to Andover to see my in-laws from another European adventure. That’s a whole other story.Anyway, off we go. Cheerio!

One thought on “My Alarm Didn’t Go Off

Leave a comment